Deacon ministry

The Deacon Ministry is comprised of a faithful assembly of God’s servants appointed by the Pastor. Members serve under the leadership and spiritual direction of the Pastor and are loyal to him and the church in prayer, support, encouragement and fellowship. The ordinances of the Baptist Church are Holy Communion and Baptism and the Deacons assist the Pastor in carrying out these ordinances. Consistent connection between the Pastor and the congregation is the key to growth, peace and harmony within the church and this ministry accomplishes this goal with the “Family Watch Care” ministry. This intra-congregational ministry connects each individual and family member of the church with a Deacon and serves as the adjunct to the Pastorate, aiding in counseling, prayer and support of the entire membership. Deacons serve as members of the Official Board of the Church.

Meeting time: Every Tuesday before the first Sunday of each month, 6:30 p.m.


Tommie Batts


Maurice Cowan


Sydney Hutchinson

Deacon Emeritus

Willie Littlepage

Deacon Emeritus

Carlos Long


Melvin McCann

Assistant Secretary

Judge Posey

Deacon Emeritus

Prince Preyer, Jr.

Deacon Emeritus

Ernie Robinson


David Thompson


John Vickers

Deacon Emeritus


Anthony Adams

Gilliam Carpenter

Denver Betts, Sr.

Charley Burruss

Willie Campbell *

Leonard Chalk

Tommy Coleman

Charles Curry

Ronnie Davis

Earnest Davis

Robert Davy, Sr.

Isaac Edmond, Jr.

Willie Fitzpatrick

McCleney Greene

Leonard Harris

Joseph Henderson

Joe Lampley

Melvin Mayo

Sam McElroy

Alfred Moore

Daniel Mose, II

James Oglesby

Donald Outland

Wilman Pidgeon

Charles Scruggs

Michael Scruggs

Morris Smith

John Stallworth

Huey Thompson

Richard Twitty

Robert Ware

Arthur Wesley, II

Eddie Williams

* Deceased